Villa Norangdal was built in 1885, to accomodate tourists who came to explore the mountains. Amongst them the british mountain pioneer William Cecil Slingsby.
Another famous guest during the first years was Queen Wilhelmina of the Netherlands. Thousands of cruise passengers stopped for refreshments here during the 1920s and 1930s. As a result of new fire regulations for hotels, and the demand for modern bathroom facilities, the hotel was closed in 1965.
In 2003-2007 Villa Norangdal had a total “make over” and was re-opened as a Boutique Hotel focused on design history. In May 2010 Villa Norangdal was rewarded the hallmark of Norwegian Heritage: “Olavsrosa”, the St Olav’s Rose. Certified Eco Lighthouse since 2014.